How to make yourself a morning person

If anyone had told me a few years ago that I would be writing this blog, I would have laughed in their faceIm still not amazing in the mornings but Im SO much better than I wasBefore, I was more likely to hurl a bit of abuse at anyone who dared wake me before 7.30am at the absolute earliest unless someone had died or it was snowingI still like lieins, Im only human! I can still sleep pretty much anywhere, apart from in the car unless Im pretty much dead on my feet, but at least now Im a functioning adult in the morningsBens the complete opposite, hes awake like clockwork as soon as the sky gets even the tiniest bit lightI can always guarantee that when I wake up on a Saturday morning hell have already been awake for 2 hours or hell be downstairs watching tv so he doesnt wake me upIve made a list of all the things that help me wake up a bit easier

Use airplane mode

Seriously, that thing is a godsend.  Yes it charges your phone quicker, but it also stops any messages or alerts coming through.  I go to bed around 10pm every single night but some of my friends are still awake at 11.30pm and if they message me I can guarantee it’ll wake me up and that’s definitely not going to help my mood.  I have to have my phone on loud for the alarm to actually wake me up and if I don’t put it on airplane and someone texts it’s stupidly loud.  Putting my phone on loud, setting the alarm and switching on airplane has become my nightly routine now

Set an alarm you don’t hate

We’ve all done it, liked a song and set it as our alarm only to absolutely despise said song within a week.  I used to do this a lot, but then I’d start sleeping through the songs, or just let them play and not actually get up.  Now I just have the standard beeping because I find it so annoying I can’t sleep through it, and it’s not so loud it wakes up the rest of the house. I leave that to the cats when they’re running around….

 Get an early night

SO obvious but SO crucial.  It gets to around 9pm every night and the routine is shower, take off makeup, drink, bed.  I hate going to bed any later than 10pm unless it’s a Friday/Saturday night because I know I’ll just feel like crap in the morning and hate myself for doing it.  I’ve learnt that if I wake up during the night and need to go to either the kitchen or bathroom I have to leave all the lights off and just wait for my eyes to get accustomed to the dark, otherwise I’m going back to bed wide awake and it takes me ages to get back to sleep. 

Put the alarm somewhere you physically have to move to

I used to sleep with my alarm right next to my head, or under my pillow thinking it would be easier to wake me up.  Then I realised instead of actually waking up properly I was just swiping the alarm off and going back to sleep.  I tried putting it the other side of the room and it just annoyed me, now I have it up on the window next to the bed.  Not far away enough that I have to get up and run across the room, but far enough that I have to move and that wakes me up a lot more nicely.  Nobody wants to start their day off with a heart attack that they have to then run about to stop. 

Do something you enjoy

I get up, get ready and go to the gym.  Ben and I usually sit in quiet on the drive to the gym because he knows that speaking to me before 7am is a bit useless.  I have to give myself time to wake up and register things properly, and I hate having conversations stupidly early.  Mum’s always joked that nobody in our house would speak in the mornings because we all just keep to ourselves while getting ready. I get to the gym and it tends to set me up for the day, it means I don’t have to do it after work and it gives me that little burst of endorphins that set my day off well.  I’m one of those strange people that actually enjoy spending an hour on the treadmill or doing weights and I find that if I don’t get up and go, I’ll talk myself out of going.  Knowing that you’re going to be doing something you enjoy makes it a lot easier to get up in the morning. 

3 comments

Leave a Reply

