They’re not ‘just pets’

I didn’t think I’d be writing this post for a long time. My boys are only six years old, it feels like they’ve been around forever but at the same time they’re still so young. Roni got ill in August last year, he started pulling all his fur out around his back and legs and lost half his body weight. Every time we took him to the vets they said it was stress, put him on steroids and said to keep an eye on him. We ended putting food and drink downstairs and upstairs so there was always something around for him and Alfie, but he kept losing weight. Back to the vets again and they checked for worms etc and couldn’t find anything, felt all along him and there was nothing abnormal. Then on Thursday evening he was a bit dopey, tried to jump onto the sofa with me and his back legs slipped. Friday morning he was being sick so mum took him back to the vets again. They found kidney failure and cancer, he had about 2 days left in him and that was it. My boy didn’t make it and they had to put him to sleep.
Roni was the most soppy, playful little thing and it absolutely breaks my heart that he’s gone. I’ve got his collar next to my bed and I picked something up that was resting against it and the bell went which made me think he was running into the room like normal and I burst out crying. Roni absolutely idolised Ben, everywhere he went Roni was next to him. Every weekend he would be sat outside our room waiting for the door to open so he could come in for cuddles, Ben would build a cave out of the bedding and then he’d stay there for the rest of the day. 

Pets are part of the family, no matter how long they’re in our lives they become a massive part of it. They’re there for everything, through the hardest and the best of times, through the sickness, the late nights, the early mornings and the rubbish days. They’re always there to provide cuddles and no judgement. When Ben went on his stag do my parents were away and it was just me and the cats at home. Even though there weren’t any people in the house I still felt better knowing the cats were there and they slept on my bed every night. When you lose a pet it’s not just the physical loss, it’s the emotional hole they leave when you realise there won’t be any more cuddles or lie ins. I’d absolutely love to have a pet when Ben and I move out but I couldn’t go through with losing them. 

Alfie’s currently wandering around the house looking a little bit lost and confused. I’d love to be able to tell him what’s happened, his brother was too poorly to come home but I can’t. All I can do is cuddle him as much as he’ll allow (he’s not the most sociable animal, total opposite to his brother who would do anything for attention!) and make sure he’s ok.

7 comments

  1. I’m so sorry for your loss. I lost my little dog on Boxing Day and have never experienced a loss like it. I ended up having a fortnight off work to deal with my grief and people were far from understanding about it; “It’s just a dog”. Those words cut through you, I understand your frustration and pain. I hope you find peace x

    Like

    • Thank you so much, it’s a horrendous pain isn’t it? I can’t imagine ever saying to someone “It’s just a pet” because I know it’s not, they’re so much more than that. I’m sorry about your dog x

      Like

      • These people have never either owned a pet or have only ever seen them as just that and not a part of their family. I do not have children and our dogs are our babies to us. Now, if we’d lost our children people would show empathy! It’s definitely not “just a pet”. I found a pet loss group on Facebook that really helped me just get everything off my chest with other people going through the same thing. Just a bit of advice x

        Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m so so sorry for your loss. I does get easier with time. When we lost Max I had to remove everything that reminded me of him. It made me hurt so bad inside……physical pain. Over time I could slowly start talking about him again without getting upset and crying. Its was a year last October that he was knocked down and killed….I can talk about him with fondest memories. Time does heal I promise you won’t feel like this forever. Xx

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

