23 things I’ve learned in 23 years

It’s my birthday! To celebrate becoming older and theoretically wiser, I’ve made a list of things I’ve learnt in my twenty three years on this planet.  

  1. Buy flowers for yourself.  It doesn’t make you sad, or weird.  It makes you happy to have fresh flowers in your room to look at every so often. 
  2. Sleep is good.  Really good.  Cherish the times you actually have the ability to nap, before there’s a baby demanding your attention, or you’re working and it’s frowned upon to sneak off for a quick snooze. 
  3. Everything changes in a week.  I read this somewhere years ago and it’s stuck with me.  The things you’re stressing about now will mean absolutely nothing in a week, maybe even in a day.  Have a cup of tea and learn to accept that things will change, you might not like them but you can live with them.  
  4. Never go with your first instinct on an email address.  Chances are in 10 years time when you look back you’ll cringe so much it physically hurts.  
  5. Don’t feel pressured to go to uni.  My brother went, my friends went, I didn’t.  Uni had never appealed to me, going into so much debt for a piece of paper with no guaranteed job at the end of it? Nah I’m good, I’ll go and start working in a bar and start earning.  However with this, sixth form didn’t know what to do with me and kept trying to talk me into uni.  Being stubborn I kept saying no and I’m so glad about that.
  6. Take photos. Take stupid, blurry photos on nights out.  Take photos of your kids, or your friends kids because they grow up so fast. Take photos of sunsets, sunrises, clouds, trees, whatever!  Just take photos and keep them.  Even if they turn out crap, it’s still a memory of a moment. 
  7. Appreciate your friends while they’re still around.  They can be taken from you in a matter of seconds and that’s the worst feeling, knowing you’ll never get to say goodbye. 
  8. Work crappy jobs serving the Great British Public.  If nothing else it will teach you to be more tolerant, and how to order a round of drinks correctly.  
  9. Keep track of money.  There’ll be times where you’ll have to dip into your overdraft and it’s one of the crappest things.  Know what’s going in and out of your account all month and you’ll save yourself a lot of hassle.  Crying in the bank because you can’t pay your bills and afford to eat that month is never a good look.  
  10. Get drunk, make mistakes and learn from them.  Obviously don’t put yourself in danger, but sometimes you need to have one sambuca too many to make you realise what your limit is and then never go near it again.  
  11. Don’t worry that you don’t have a plan.  I never knew what I wanted to do when I was older, I know people who are still chasing their dream career, and people who got it and realised it wasn’t what they wanted.  Here’s a secret….nobody really knows what they want.  
  12. Buy multiple phone chargers – they will always break right when you need it.  You will find yourself in some random phone shop, where they make an awful lot of personalised cases, buying a cable that definitely isn’t genuine and praying that it doesn’t set light when you’re asleep.  
  13. Social media isn’t real.  How many times have you posted a picture that hasn’t been staged or edited, or when was the last time you posted a status that showed something was wrong with your life?  People don’t show off things that go wrong. 
  14. Learn to cook.  Even if it’s just the basics, if not you’ll find yourself googling how to cook a jacket potato or calling your mum to see how much spaghetti will feed two people.  Side note, it’s always less than you think. 
  15. Get the damn tattoo. 
  16. The friends you surround yourself with have a bigger impact on your life than you realise.  Once you start cutting off toxic people, things seem a bit sparklier and you’ll feel so much better for it. 
  17. Lifting weights won’t make you bulky.  Seriously, it took me so long to realise this one, even with a personal trainer. 
  18. It’s completely acceptable to have Disney binges.  Especially now they’re being remade, it’s fine to get out your old collection and have a day wrapped in blankets on the sofa with a cup of tea and The Lion King keeping you company. 
  19. No one can make you feel inferior without your consent. 
  20. You don’t have to keep someone in your life just because you’ve known them for the majority of it.  If they no longer help you grow as a person, you don’t have to feel pressured to keep them around.
  21. Stocking up on jumpers, blankets and socks doesn’t make you a grandma.  It makes you warm, which makes you smart.  
  22. Don’t get layers cut in when you have short hair.  I’ll leave it at that.  
  23. Laugh.  As often as you can, life’s not something to be taken too seriously – it’s not like you’re going to survive it anyway.  
2 comments

  1. Happy Birthday! Love no. 15 – I had been umming and ahing over whether to get a tattoo or not (my second one) and then just decided that I’ll probably keep thinking about if I don’t get it so I’m just doing to do it!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

