Things you should do every day

Now I’m not writing this to be patronising.  I’m not some lifestyle guru who has their shit together. There’s days where I can’t remember my name let alone tell other people what to do with their lives.  This is just a list of things to do that will make your average day into a slightly better one that may *even* be slightly productive.  I always aim to get to the end of each day feeling like I at least did something that day, lets face it I’ll never cure world hunger but even if I just make one person smile I’ll take that as a good day.

Play some music

Just blast it out.  Coldplay Viva la Vida is always a good one I find to get me in a good mood, especially after the One Love Manchester concert, it now reminds me of dancing policemen making people smile.  Find a song with a good beat or one that reminds you of a really good time and just play it as many times as you need to boost yourself up.  Make a productive playlist full of songs that always make you smile and have that on backup. 

Smile

At work we have a word document of all the daft things people have said in the office and there are some genuine crackers on there.  I have a list on my phone of my favourite memories and I read through these things as often as possible purely because it takes me back to when that memory happened and I burst out with a smile.  I think of random things when I’m walking down the street and just smile to myself, yes I probably look a bit insane to people walking past but I don’t care! 

Sweat

I know, I know, I’m a cliche.  I may as well say “make a smoothie and do a yoga class before going to brunch with your gal pals” but I’m not going to.  Take your dog for a walk, go swimming, go for a run, whatever you do just make an effort to actually get a sweat on.  I used to hate people that would be all bouncy and happy after a gym session until I realised Elle Woods immortal words are true;

Exercise gives you endorphins. Endorphins make you happy. Happy people just don’t kill their husbands…...

Compliment someone

Think about how you feel when you receive a genuine compliment.  Then pass that on to someone else.  There’s always something to compliment someone on, even if it’s just a small thing like they’ve had their hair cut or they’ve done it slightly differently.  Especially if they’ve done something different, the chances are that person is slightly self conscious about it, especially if it’s the first time, and a genuine compliment from someone will give them the little boost needed.  But it has to be a genuine compliment, don’t go round saying crap you don’t actually mean!  Be nice because it’s so easy, and the world needs more nice people.  

Read the news

I’ll be honest – we live in tense times now and there’s days where the last thing I want to do is read the news and be faced with more negativity.  Be it more terrorism, or just the Daily Fail forcing someone “flaunting their incredible figure” or “showing off their toned abs” down my throat, there’s days where I really don’t want to load that page up.  I mix it up between metro/buzzfeed/daily mail/bbc news and sky news because then I’ll get a different view on different things and some articles pick up things that others left out.  I genuinely find buzzfeed investigations fascinating because they go into things that most other media outlets won’t. Reading the news every day just lets you catch up on what’s happening around the world, and when it inevitably comes up in office talk you can throw your opinion in having actually read something and know what you’re talking about. 

Ignore your phone

Just put it down for an hour.  No notifications, no messages, just have some you time without having to worry about your Instagram account.  I have a habit of logging off my laptop and going straight on my phone which definitely isn’t needed so I’m trying this one a bit harder!

Any other tips that you should do each day?

 

*stock image*

Leave a Reply

